This iconic event is the highlight of the Energy Industry calendar and showcases the talents of its brightest stars. Featuring three days of intense cable jointer and line mechanic competitions with teams from all around New Zealand battling it out. Events include a pole top rescue, team building and first aid competitions, as well as a pit rescue and spike gun event.

2018 event

2 – 4 October
Airforce Museum, Christchurch

2018’s event was fantastic!

A huge congratulations to the competition winners and winners of the Excellence Awards.

We would also like to extend a very large thank you to our 2018 sponsors – we could not run this event without you, so thank you!

Check out the photos from the day


Excellence Awards

Suppliers Expo

2018 Sponsors

Cable Jointer Competition and Line Mechanic Competition

This years competition was a good one!

Congratulations to the winners and thank you to all competitors for making it such a tight competition.

Congratulations to our 2018 winners

Overall Winners

Cable Jointer

  • 1st: Kirk McDonald – Mainpower
  • 2nd: Ruan Naude – Electrix
  • 3rd: Paul Barclay –  PowerNet

Line Mechanic

  • 1st: Mainpower
  • 2nd: Powernet Circuit
  • 3rd: Independent Line Services

Special Awards

  • Ross Archer Memorial Line Mechanic Safety Award: Connie Wallace – Netcon
  • Dougie Award: Electra
  • Leadership Award: Paul Innes – Independent Line Services
Cable Jointer Competition
  • Electrical Theory: Ruan Naude – Electrix
  • Spike Gun: Paul Barclay – Powernet
  • First Aid: Paul Barclay – Powernet
  • Pit Rescue: Ruan Naude – Electrix
  • LV Branch Joint: Paul Barclay – Powernet
  • HV Joint: Callum Pawsey – Delta Utility Services
  • HV Outdoor Termination: Kirk McDonald, MainPower
  • HV Indoor Termination: Kevin Piere, Netcon
Line Mechanic Competition
  • Pole Installation: Mainpower
  • Electrical Theory: Netcon
  • Pole Top Rescue: Electrix
  • Line Build: Mainpower
  • First Aid: Powernet Circuit
  • Utilities Location: Independent Line Services
  • Rigging: Independent Line Services
  • Transformer Installation: Electrix
  • Low Voltage Distribution Install: Powernet Breaker
  • Drive: Mainpower
  • Testing to Ensure Safety: WEL Networks
  • Hardware Build: Connetics
  • Teamwork: Mainpower
  • Dismantle: Electrix
Line Mechanic Competition Winner

Mainpower Rangiora

Cable Jointer Competition Winner

Kirk McDonald
Mainpower Rangiora

Outstanding Leader in the 2018 Line Mechanic Competition

Paul Innes
Independent Line Services, Christchurch

Ross Archer Memorial Line Mechanic Safety Award

Connie Wallace
Netcon Timaru

  • Connetics Ltd
  • Electra
  • Electrix
  • Independent Line Services
  • MainPower New Zealand Ltd
  • Netcon Ltd Timaru
  • PowerNet
    • PowerNet Circuit
    • PowerNet Breaker
  • WEL Networks
  • Broadspectrum
  • Connectics
  • Delta Utility Services
  • EA Networks
  • Electrix
  • Independent Line Services
  • MainPower New Zealand Ltd
  • Netcon Ltd
  • PowerNet

Cable Jointer competition

Line Mechanic competition

Line Mechanic competition

Suppliers Expo

It was great seeing so many suppliers at this years expo.

Thank you to all those who attended and we hope to see you again next year.

Sponsor of the 2018 suppliers Expo:

Excellence awards

The Excellence Awards celebrate the best and brightest trainees working in the Electricity Supply and Telecommunications industries.  They also recognise those who have made a significant contribution to the industry through their enthusiasm and commitment to industry training.

Congratulations to our 2018 award winners

Overall Trainee of the Year

Joe Mills – Meridian Energy

Advanced Trainee of the Year

Elliot McKinnon
WEL Networks

Distribution Trainee of the Year

Luke Perkins

Generation Trainee of the Year

Joe Mills
Meridian Energy

Telecommunications Trainee of the Year

Jonathon Welch

Investing in Youth Training and Development

Joseph Reti


Thank you to our 2018 sponsors!

Premier sponsor of the Line Mechanic Competition

TE Connectivity
Premier sponsor of the Cable Jointer Competition

Premier Sponsor of the Excellence Awards